Beauteque: Be Your Best Self Tag

[ ❤ ]

Be Your Best Self Tag: Kayla

Decided to try out the, ‘Be Your Best Self Tag’ from Beauteque for their ‘Week of Positivity’

You can check out the original post in the link above! ^

1. Was there a time where you had to be brave in a difficult situation?

  • There’s so many situations but if I had to pick one it would be a time when I was younger (about middle school age) and one of my best friends was getting picked on. It was to the point where my BFF was crying and bawling in tears but even though she cried, the bully kept firing mean things to her. I remember remaining silent for awhile, mostly out of fear that I’d be picked on and ridiculed but something in me happened. I recall looking at the bully straight in the eye and yelled, “Go away, ..you horrible mean person!” For a second, they stared back and I swear worth the life of me I was about ready to die in my size 5 shoes so I held my breath while doing the serious stare-down. The bully then frowned angrily at me and just walked away never looking back. It was a few minutes that they left and I eventually let out a huge sigh of relief. My friend hugged me and we ended up both crying and laughing like our lives were on the line but we just dodged a bullet. They haven’t bothered me or my best friend ever since that day and I realized I was a much braver kid than it seemed.

2. Who inspires you to be your best self?

  • My family, specifically my grandmother. As old as she is– she’s quite the pusher, nagger, and stubborn elderly lady. (Grandma, I love you btw) However, my grandmother has never finished through elementary school, came from a poor family, and sold candies on the crowded streets in the Philippines as a child but has managed to buy a house before 20, move to America with my grandfather, give birth to seven children, made her kids well educated, and is living comfortably in her beautiful home by the seas of San Diego. So I don’t see her as a grandmother but more of a mom that has pushed me out of my comfort zone to be my best self as a granddaughter, daughter, friend, and woman. Because of her, I’ve managed to do so much in my life and admire everything she has done for me.

3. What is your greatest personal achievement?

  • School and jobs are definitely up there but my personal favorite would have to be —Buying my first car. I’ve always borrowed my mom’s or brother’s car throughout high school and my early years in college. It was pretty difficult getting around because I’d drive to school but whenever I leave around 2pm I would heavily speed walk to the parking lot. I’d get home about 2:20pm then my mom would use the car to get to work at 3pm. It was definitely hard but when I bought my first car, I felt like a true adult because it was such a big purchase. Buying a car to me was like buying a million dollar home and I was more proud to have made such a responsible decision with something that I can official call my own. My cute ’13 Mazda 3 has been with me for a few short years now and I could never be anymore happier.

4. Share a time where you acted selflessly.

  • I’ve been assigned to take care of a person with various medical conditions that caused them to suffer from heavy depression and anxiety. Overall, their outlook of life was very negative to the point where none of the other medical staff liked them much. They were always rude, called the staff and myself names, pitied themselves, and were downright blackened to the core. For 8 months I had this person and seriously prayed to let me get through each day. I gave my heart out to them and even though their negativity was getting to me, I still made sure they were clean, fed, meds were given, took time to listen to them, and were absolutely taken care of. I’ve given my full compassion and treated them no different to any other person in need.
  • Even though they’ve passed away already, I don’t regret having that experience because they’ve changed me and I’ve learned that no matter what –Always give the best and never stop trying.

5. What is the best compliment you have ever given?

  • I worry about you, mom.” I don’t think I’ve given my mom credit for what she’s done. I remember giving this compliment while she dropped me off to school one day and she came back from a night shift along with going through a serious tough time. This compliment expresses how much I care and actually do worry about my mom from time to time. I wanted to let her know that even though I was just a kid going to school everyday that I still cared and appreciate the life she’s given me.

6. What is the best compliment you have ever received?

  • You look so beautiful.” Simple and sweet but it’s always a heartwarming reminder that other people still see beauty in myself. So keep on telling others and remind them that they’re beautiful no matter what.

7. What’s your best beauty tip?

  • Skincare. Take care of your skin. It’s the biggest organ of our body, protects the bad from coming in along with the good from coming out, and is the pure base that keeps your makeup in place. So brush up on a simple skincare routine with cleansers, toners, serums, moisturizers etc. and become familiar with prepackaged sheet masks or peels. There’s a lot of ways to keep the skin healthy, rejuvenated, and glowing that will last a lifetime!

8. What beauty product makes you feel your best self?

  • Lipstick. I personally prefer the Etude House – Dear My Blooming Lips Talk. I own so many shades that I can’t just pinpoint one specific color! I love the application and finishing that makes my lips supple with beautiful color.

9. What do you do that makes you feel like your best self?

  • Being an everyday hero. So many ways to be one and you don’t even have to be Superwoman to do it. I personally love to help others, especially since it’s my job now, but other small things such as providing a shoulder to lean on or a helping hand can for a friend can create an amazing difference. It’s a reminder that we need our friends and family to support one another!

10. What is something that you love about yourself?

  • That I have (somewhat) enough guts to make a difference in someone’s life and the willpower to do it. We choose our own path and that’s one thing I truly love.

[ ]

So that ends my “Be Your Best Self” Tag from Beauteque! Hope you all enjoyed this Tag and join in on Beauteque’s, “Week of Positivity” –Nominee or not, have fun with it!

Here are my nominees:

Helen

Richa

Jamie

Here are the 10 questions:

1. Was there a time where you had to be brave in a difficult situation?

2. Who inspires you to be your best self?

3. What is your greatest personal achievement?

4. Share a time where you acted selflessly.

5. What is the best compliment you have ever given?

6. What is the best compliment you have ever received?

7. What’s your best beauty tip?

8. What beauty product makes you feel your best self?

9. What do you do that makes you feel like your best self?

10. What is something that you love about yourself?

Leave a Reply

